Importing new version of indicator drops it from all chart already used

Forums ProRealTime English forum ProRealTime platform support Importing new version of indicator drops it from all chart already used

Currently, there are 0 users and 1 guest visiting this topic.
View all attachments
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • #127351 Report

    I code some indicator for my friend and i distribute them sending the .itf file (e.g. MyIndicator.itf) generated from the EXPORT command in platform.
    They import MyIndicator.itf in their platform and use in chart saving all parameters and studies, to use tomorrow.

    I see a bug in MyIndicator, so i fix the code and repeat the cycle as above, generate a new file with the same name (MyIndicator.itf) by Export command e send to my friend.

    But ‘houston, we have a problem’. When they import new file MyIndicator.itf, PRT automatically delete MyIndicator from all charts where it was placed and saved.
    So my friends are forced to restart from zero and place again Myindicator in all chart as the first time, resetting all parameters.

    This is not acceptable, so i now ask to developers more skilled than me in PRT platform, any suggestion to avoid my friends have to wast time
    and effort to re-insert new version of Myindicator in their chart.

    I have thinked to rename new version with a suffix like MyIndicator01, MyIndicator02 and so on: in this way PRT keep all saved chart,
    but my friends must wasting time to insert new indicator in all chart a to copy all parameters from all old instance to all new instance.

    My expectation was that the new imported file was loaded into the platform simply replacing the old one, without deleting it from the charts where
    it had already been inserted and configured, without asking the user for any intervention besides giving the IMPORT command

    Thanks for any suggestions.

    #127352 Score: 0 | Report

    Sorry for capital letter in the subject, due to a paste/copy mistake.

    MODS EDIT: The title has been edited to remove the capitals.

    #127354 Score: 0 | Report

    Do not double post. Ask your question only once and only in one forum. All double posts will be deleted anyway so posting the same question multiple times will just be wasting your own time and will not get you an answer any quicker. Double posting just creates confusion in the forums.

    Thank you 🙂

    I deleted your topic in the General Trading Discussions.

     

    1 user thanked author for this post.
    #127364 Score: 0 | Report

    Do not double post…. I deleted your topic in the General Trading Discussions.

     

     

    oh that’s where the post ended! Too many windows open 🙂

    #127392 Score: 0 | Report

    Anything imported is considered a new item. If you delete an item or replace an item then it will no longer exist and so will be removed from all charts. If you have it applied to charts and want to keep it there then you just have to modify the code in the original indicator and then add the indicator. All the charts will then change to the new indicator code.

    1 user thanked author for this post.
    #127400 Score: 0 | Report

    PRT version 11 or previous version please?

    1 user thanked author for this post.
    #127414 Score: 0 | Report

    @Nicholas: V11.

    Vonasi wrote:

    “Anything imported is considered a new item. If you delete an item or replace an item then it will no longer exist and so will be removed from all charts. If you have it applied to charts and want to keep it there then you just have to modify the code in the original indicator and then add the indicator. All the charts will then change to the new indicator code.”

    Distributing the source code of the indicator is not the right way in this case: user could modify the code arbitrarily. Exporting the indicator in a protected way using platform options is the correct way, but in this case the PRT platform, when importing an indicator that is already present in the user’s collection, should keep links to the that indicator in all plans and charts which it was already referenced.

    In my experience, distribution in all development environments that I know allows create and distribute upgrade of an object by simply replacing the old with the new at user place,
    ensuring that object already used the old one work with new versione having nothing to do (backwards compatibility).

    I wondered if, for some reason, I was wrong to use the export or import options.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

Create your free account now and post your request to benefit from the help of the community
Register or Login