5 min EMA AND daily pivot points : distance from price

Forums ProRealTime English forum ProScreener support 5 min EMA AND daily pivot points : distance from price

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)

Hello,

Is it possible to screen at the same time the markets that meet the following conditions : the distance between the actual price and the closest daily pivot point AND the distance between the actual price and the 5 min EMA [21] is inferior to a certain number?

I could make the program for both and it works, but when I mix them in a single program, either it will show the conditions for a 5 min timeframe (the pivot points are no more the daily ones) or for a daily timeframe (the EMA is no more a 5 min EMA).

I fail to understand (I am a beginner with ProScreener) why when I launch the program with the option “5 min timeframe” the daily pivot points are no more the daily ones. Here is the beginning of the program for the calculation of the pivot points. The instructions DHigh(1), Dlow(1) and DClose(1) should refer to the previous day, not to the previous candle, shouldn’t it?

Ht = DHigh(1)
    L = DLow(1)
    C = DClose(1)

Pt = (Ht + L + C) / 3
    Re4 = Pt + ((Ht – L)*3)
    Re3 = Pt + ((Ht – L)*2)
    Re2 = Pt + Ht – L
    Re1 = (2 * Pt) – L
    Su1 = (2 * Pt) – Ht
    Su2 = Pt – (Ht – L)
    Su3 = Pt – ((Ht – L)*2)
    Su4 = Pt – ((Ht – L)*3)
    mRe1 = (Pt + Re1) / 2
    mSu1 = (Pt + Su1) / 2
    mRe2 = (Re1 + Re2) / 2
    mSu2 = (Su1 + Su2) / 2

Your assumption is right, this code should work on any other timeframe than the daily one and return the correct daily pivot points. On what instrument did you made your tests?

With this code, on a 5-minute TF, the right pivot point value is correctly returned:

Thank you Nicolas.